Some things I’m excited about…

This is just a quick and dirty post of some ideas I’ve gotten myself all excited about, and then off to bed with me!

1. I’m doing Foodie Pen Pals this month!  I just got paired up with my penpal yesterday, and I’m really looking forward to hearing back from them and getting started.  I’m just absurdly excited about this whole concept.  A STRANGER SENDS YOU AWESOME FOOD, GUYZ!  Anyway, more on that when I do the big reveal!

2. I just found this recipe on Phickle (a truly awesome blog about fermentation, if you aren’t already familiar) for vegan cheese!  I am promising myself that I will try this!  I’m a little nervous about this being my first fermentation experiment, though.  Maybe I’ll try sauerkraut first or something…

3. This post on how to pressure can beans also has me absurdly excited.  I think this might be my project this weekend.  I just need to overcome my fear of my pressure canner.  I got burned pretty badly using it this past summer.  But it’ll be totally fine this time because I have this wonderful step-by-step guide to ensure I don’t screw up!  Right?

4.  This is an idea I’ve had brewing for a while, and I’m putting it in writing (typing?) as a way of making sure I eventually try it:  I’m obsessed with the idea of making a lavender earl grey pound cake/shortbread/cupcake/muffin/something doughy and tasty.  I’ve been meaning to start experimenting with this for a while now.  Maybe this weekend?  Probably not, but soon!

Leave a Reply

