Icky weather

Well, if you’re reading from the Philadelphia area, you’ll already know that the weather today is of the ickiest variety: a freezing mix of snow expected to accumulate up to eight inches with rain, woo hoooo!  So naturally today is a kitchen kind of day.  Any time the weather gets cold and disgusting I just want to spend the whole day making yummy things in my kitchen that will warm everything up and make everything a little more cozy.  I’d really love to be making some jam today, perhaps this one from Food In Jars’ Marisa McClellan which looks absolutely incredible, but I’m running pretty low on the fresh fruits and veggies, and there haven’t been any pears in this house all season (a travesty!).  So, instead, I’m tackling sourdough bread today for the first time.

I’ll admit, I’m a little nervous.  I’m basically harvesting wild yeast and hoping that they create a beautiful loaf of bread, instead of, I dunno, poisoning us all?  Okay, it’s probably not that serious.  My starter smelled pretty much right… at first.  Er.  When I scooped out my one cup of starter for the recipe, there was a bit of a… puke-esque aroma from the bottom of the jar.  :-/  So I’m not 100% confident about this.  Anyway, the dough is currently rising and needs at least another hour, so I’ll update you with the results when it’s all done.  Here’s to hoping?

Leave a Reply

